California | Real Estate Law
8/26/09, 5:58 pm
Legal Question
deed forms to convey property
From husband and wife to husband
deed forms to convey property
From husband and wife to husband
|
Read More Answered By: Chris Johnson |
These should be available online, along with the forms required to be filed with the deed when it gets recorded. However, I'd recommend having an attorney prepare them, as any mistakes could be costly to fix later. |
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
A California-specific deed form should be used; it can be either a quitclaim deed or grant deed; the blanks need to be filled in VERY carefully and accurately, with particular attention to the legal property description. If either party acquired an interest under another name (e.g., if wife took title in her maiden name, that fact should be set forth in the granting clause. The Civil Code shows the preferred language at section 1092. You could look that up and word-process your own deed, but better to find a pre-printed or downloadable for that complies with CC 1092.
I'd advise clearing this with your lender, if any; you might be breaching or triggering a due-on-sale clause. When you record the deed, be sure the recorder is informed that this is an interspousal transfer, to avoid recording fees and possible reappraisal. There's a small possibility this transfer could have an income-tax effect, so ask your personal tax advisors. I assume the property is not in a trust.
A final suggestion is to consider having an escrow or title company do the paperwork for you for a modest fee. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
► My aunt owes me $7000. i went to small claims court. the judge found in my favor. i...
► Board Pres. of non prof. mut. ben. corp. resigns. One yr. later he dissolves the...
► I have two uncles that share a home. They are brothers and both their names are on...
► Do the California anti-deficiency laws apply equally to commercial property, wherein...
► Bank sold house at auction during loan modification process
► We live in Texas. We plan to be married. Will real estate one person bought in...
► Hi, as a commercial renter who has received a 3 day notice, are we responsible for...
More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press