California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
does a deed in lieu of forclosure in califoria apply as it does in the state of new york? I noticed that the 2 year right of recission is not a risk that banks or title insurance are willing to work with. need advice
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
The subject is covered, insofar as California statutes go, in Civil Code sections 1695.1 through 1695.17, under the heading of "Home Equity Sales Contracts."
Section 1695.14 does indeed provide for a two-year rescission period.....however, the grounds for rescission are quite limited (see 1695.13 for the ground - "unconscionable advantage").
Further, the entire topic of "Home Equity Sales Contracts" specifically excludes true deeds in lieu of foreclosure - see subsection 1695.1(a)(2). So, in California at least, it boils down to whether you really mean "home equity sales contract" (in which a third party, not the lender, acquires the defaulting owner's equity position) rather than "deed in lieu of foreclosure" as you say, where the lender, not a third party, accepts a deed from the borrower rather than foreclosing.
The two-year rescission period applies only to the former, not the latter, and even in the case of the former, only if the deal was unconscionable.
As to New York law, I have no idea, and so can't make comparisons. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


