California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
8/30/10, 3:26 pm

Legal Question


how much deposit can I ask for on a california home rental


question bubble
9/04/10, 4:12 pm

Legal Answer


Unfurnished, two times the monthly rent; furnished, three times. This is in addition to the first month's rent, in advance. Civil Cide section 1950.5(c).

Bryan Whipple

Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law P O Box 318 Tomales, CA 94971-0318

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
9/04/10, 5:49 pm

Legal Answer


Mr. Whipple is right, unless you are in a rent control jurisdiction with other rules.

Timothy McCormick

Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 1990 N. California Blvd., 8th Fl Walnut Creek, CA 94596

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search