California  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/09/13, 12:57 pm

Am I entitled to any compensation from my realtor or escrow or selling party for property damage that happened after close of escrow, during a one week period of vacancy prior to moving in? My Air Conditioning unit was vandalized and stolen. Thanks!

J.V.

4 Answers


Answered on: 7/09/13, 1:28 pm by William Christian

Once escrow closes you usually are entitled to possession at close (though your contract can vary this). Once it is yours, the security of the property is your problem. It would be necessary to review your documents to provide a definitive answer. This gratuitous response does not create an attorney client relationship. The advice provided herein is generic, may not apply to your circumstances and is not to be relied upon in your actions. An attorney client relationship is created only upon execution of an engagement letter hiring me or my firm.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Rodi Pollock 444 S Flower St Los Angeles, CA 90071

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/09/13, 3:34 pm by Bryan Whipple

I'd say not unless (a) there were a deal term that denied you possession during the one week period of vacancy (unusual, but it does happen), or (b) one of the parties whom you name as possibly liable has actually done something negligent that was a significant factor in allowing the crime to occur.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law P O Box 318 Tomales, CA 94971-0318

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/09/13, 4:20 pm by Anthony Roach

I agree with Mr. Whipple.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/10/13, 10:19 pm by John Laurie

Once the property is yours its your responsibility. Your homeowners policy might cover the loss. Check with your insurance agent.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

81 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search