California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
11/20/10, 3:34 am

Legal Question


A federally owned, remote 10 acre site, supporting multiple, commercial, federal, and state telecommunications activities, has civilian and Federal, County, and State radio assets, and is serviced by private contracting entities.

Sole access to the site is through a very old, unimproved, dirt road built, using Federal funding, during the depression using CCC workers. In old times, the road was the only North South Road/Trail in the region, going back to stagecoach times. The road transits a patchwork quilt of 15 private parcels, and approximately 10 Federal and State Park, entities, including the US Forest Service, which manages the multiple users at the communications site, using permittee agreements. It is close to declared wilderness areas. One communications tenant occupying a 1 acre sub parcel in the 10 acre parcel wishes to transfer the communications functions that it managed, to another tenant/management entity. This seemingly minor modification of a permittee agreement, has triggered a response by a self described leader of the surrounding parcel owners (An informal association) over which the access road travels. This property owner, whose psuedoname for this note, shall be called Contrary, who lives beyond the Communications site on the dirt road asserts an alleged right prohibit any further access to that single tenant, for the continued tenant operation of the 1 acre subparcel of the USFS 10 acre site. All other ongoing Permittee agreement-managed activities at the 10 acre site, including access over the only road access, continue.

Mr Contrary, wrote and recorded a document, described as an easement deed, at county records, Titled “Non-Exclusive Easement Deed for a Road and Trail” The deed was between the US Forest Service, and the multiple parcel owners over whose property the federally built road travels. The federally built, and maintained road is the only access to the privately owned parcels. It is also the only access to the Communications site, and multiple other federal lands. It is used by hikers. The 16 year old document has (only) six duly notarized signatures of the 30 owners. Mr Contrary never signed the (his) filed easement.

Mr Contrary wrote from scratch, his restrictions and conditions of use of the Federally built road, to his favor, limiting traffic, and nature of use of the communications site, and terms and conditions for any future successors not on permittee agreements at the time of the written deed.

Mr Contrary asserted that the deed which he created was necessary because no prior deeds of record existed setting terms of use, and access of the privately constructed and maintained road.

Mr Contrary, and the rest of the property owners asserted in writing, their intention to not maintain the road. Any use by Federal or other entities were required to maintain the road, making the road for decades federally maintained; (millions of dollars), during which time enabled the parcel owners to access their properties. Very few of the parcel owners have as primary residences, or live on their properties. I.E. the properties and homes on some of the properties are mostly vacant.

The recorded deed has typewritten lists of 30 owner-entities, including Family Trusts, and family members with proportional ownerships of the privately owned parcels. Of the 30, only six ever signed the deed. Mr Contrary was NOT a signee. Investigations at the County Recorder’s office, have revealed several filed documents, including easements, filed beginning in the 1930s. One of which declares the road as a public road. In spite of the declaration the landowners have placed private gates, limiting vehicle access to the road from the public, for decades. The Permitteed users of the Communications site, travel to the site, (today) approximately 1-2 times monthly, from a former traffic level related to the comm site of approximately 100 trips monthly. (Due to automation and reliability upgrades of the site equipment.)

THE QUESTION:

Can Mr Contrary assert and enforce a right to refuse vehicle passage over his and others property by users of the Federal Communications site, over the federally built and maintained road, based on the deed filed 16 years ago? Do the 1930s deeds which declare the road public, hold sway over the more recent deed?

All deeds, and related docs are accessible on line


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search