California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
1/03/05, 5:18 pm

Legal Question


Forclosing on Property in Escrow

We own a note on property in which the people have not paid in 3 months. They have ''sold'' the property and it is now in escrow. We were going to start forclosure procedures, but we need to understand if there is any benefit to this at all. Their payment history is pretty awful, they made 1 payment on time, 2 late, and did not pay the other 3 payments.

You can call or email for more details.

thanks in advance,


question bubble
1/03/05, 11:27 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Forclosing on Property in Escrow

There should be a "benefit", assuming you have a properly recorded deed of trust. Customarily, escrow contacts you to get a beneficiary demand which advises as to the amount of the outstanding lien, and if the buyer is paying all cash, you should be paid off. Alternatively, if the loan is assumable, you may be brought "current" and the new purchaser will take subject to the deed of trust securing your note and must continue to make the payments provided for in the note. Good luck!

Judith Deming

Deming & Associates 5334 E. Chapman Avenue, Suite 100 Orange, CA 932869

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
1/04/05, 11:51 am

Legal Answer


Re: Forclosing on Property in Escrow

If the new buyer is seeking financing (a purchase money loan from a lender) and if your note is properly secured by the real property, your note will be paid in full at the time of escrow closing. The escrow company will ask you for a payoff demand.

If not, you need the help of an attorney immediately. Call with any questions (free call) 949/548-1700.

Daniel Harrison

Berger Harrison, APC 2700 Pacific Coast Hwy., Suite 200 Newport Beach, CA 92663

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
1/06/05, 7:36 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Forclosing on Property in Escrow

I suggest you start foreclosure proceedings. If the house does not sell and close escrow, you would benefit. Please call us at 714 363 0220 for any further assistance.

Larry Rothman

Larry Rothman & Associates 1 CITY BOULEVARD WEST, SUITE 850 Orange, CA 92868

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
1/03/05, 5:27 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Forclosing on Property in Escrow

I am assuming that your note and deed of trust was recorded with the county. If that is the case, then you will need to send a demand for payment to the title company. If you have not recorded the note, you may need to file a suit to protect your interests.

Ken Koenen

Koenen & Tokunaga, P.C. 5776 Stoneridge Mall Rd., Suite 350 Pleasanton, CA 94588

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
1/03/05, 5:51 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Forclosing on Property in Escrow

You mean the property is in the process of being sold since it is still in escrow. You need an attorney to look over that escrow file and make sure you are safe and that your note along with any late fees or interest will be paid from the sale. It is unclear without looking at the file if going for foreclosure immediately would be your best move. You can hire me and be sure to make the right call. 310-266-4115 Christopher Brainard, Esq.

Christopher M. Brainard, Esq.

Law Offices of C. M. Brainard -- (310) 266-4115 1715 Via El Prado, Unit 9 Redondo Beach, CA 90277

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
1/03/05, 7:46 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Forclosing on Property in Escrow

I hope you hold a trust deed on the property. If not it may be sold out from under the note. If a trust deed is recorded, it will likely be paid at time of closing. Need more info. Call to discuss.

Donald Holben

Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC 5030 Camino de la Siesta, Suite 350 San Diego, CA 92108

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search