California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
1/03/05, 12:40 pm

Legal Question


Fraud

I filed for divorce in Nov.2002. Settlement meeting was scheduled for March 2003 (wife did not attend but we came to an agreement over the phone via her lawyer to settle things.)She then refused to sign agreement and requested changes.(Asked me to refinance to remove any responsibility for our loan.I agreed and she still refused to co-operate and sign. I found out that she did not attend because she was hiding the fact that she was buying a house with her boyfriend. They both signed all documents as ''unmarried''. Her boyfriend's divorce was not to be final until June 2003. I have been told that what they have done is fraud. Had the information about their home purchase been known in March I feel she would have settled to get that house. I now have incurred extra lawyer fees from March until now.

If the title company or loan company had done their job they would have discovered she was married and forced them to obtain title the correct way. How can they be punished for their fraud? How can I be compensated for my extra legal fees because someone failed to do their job. What they have done is wrong. Who should I report this to and what can they do? Please help me. Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search