California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
10/30/09, 7:24 pm

Legal Question


Hello,

I need to add two names to the title of my home. Is there a process for doing this? What particular forms do I need to complete. Any other pertinent info I should know?

Thank you,

Lorraine


question bubble
11/04/09, 9:18 pm

Legal Answer


There is probably a LOT of pertinent info you should know. It all depends on who you are adding and why. The simple answer is that you deed the property to yourself and the two other people. A whole lot of things happen when you do that though, and what the exact consequences are depends on what you want to accomplish and whether or not you use the right form of deed to do it. There are potential tax, probate, and control issues, among others, that you have to consider. If you'd like a more complete answer you'll need to send me or post details.

Timothy McCormick

Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
1990 N. California Blvd., 8th Fl
Walnut Creek, CA 94596

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search