California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
7/15/08, 11:25 am

Legal Question


HOA sliding glass door won't pay

A sliding glass door in our condo no longer closes properly and 4 contractors have said it is due to settlement of the building (4 unit self managed condominium). One member of the HOA is stating that the CC&R's are not responsible for the slider eventhough the CC&R's state that ''all common areas'' and ''exterior glass surfaces'' are to be repaired and maintained by the HOA. They also state the the deck (which is right off the slider) is a ''restriced common area'' but the neighbor is trying to say that it is not a common area. Who is right and how can we make the HOA pay for this repair (lowest repair cost is $2200 and involved removing exterior stucco from the exterior, re-leveling, rehang new door, and re-stucco the outside portion.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search