California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
8/01/05, 3:44 pm

Legal Question


Home Owners Association Assessment

Our Homeowners Association wants to assess the members a special assessment in the amount of $9,000. They say the assessment is to repair roofs and termite damage. Can our Board assess the members without a writtetn statemnt as to the itmemized costs of such repairs? There have not been any repairs on roofs for 30 years. This $9,000 is an estimate from an unlicensed general contractor that the association board has hired at a rate of $50.00/hr. They have stated that they can place a lien on our property if the amount is not paid in full. Can the board charge us a $9,000 assessment without showing us in writing exactly where the money is being spent. They have not even acquired any bids from roofing contractors. Would you advise me to obtain an attroney? If so what kind of attorney? Thank you for your assistance.


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search