California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
6/12/07, 1:26 pm

Legal Question


Homeowner's Warranty Insurance

I purchased my home in 9/2006. The inspection report listed our air conditioner was functional. However, it has stopped. The homeowner's warranty insurance company has rejected my claim. I rebutted and after weeks of phone calls, they have finally scheduled another company to inspect my unit. What are my options if they refuse to replace or fix it? Thanks!


question bubble
6/12/07, 1:40 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Homeowner's Warranty Insurance

Anyone would need to know what it says in your Home Warranty Contract.

What was the basis for the Warranty company's initial rejection of your claim?

You would probably have no recourse against the Seller unless you could prove that either the Seller or Seller's agent was aware of a defect and failed to disclose it.

Check carefully the terms of your Home Warranty contract and simply insist that the Home Warranty Company honor their obligations.

Marco Cosentino

Law Office of Mark J. Leonardo
22761 Pacific Coast Highway, Suite 225
Malibu, CA 90265

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
6/12/07, 2:49 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Homeowner's Warranty Insurance

If the insurance company doesn't come through, you should consider sueing them for the cost of repairs in Small Claims Court.

Bryan Whipple

Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
P O Box 318
Tomales, CA 94971-0318

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search