California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Homesteading
Where can I find out where there is property that can still be homesteaded? And, how can I file a gold claim, if available? Are they possible to do simultaneously?
Or, is there anywhere I can look up a legal method of obtaining BLM or other non-used, or fallow government property?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: Homesteading I believe Alaska was the last place you could obtain land by homesteading under the Homestead Act of 1862, as amended. I also believe that Alaska was closed to homesteading prior to 1996.
I have a vague recollection that the BLM does occasionally sell land, and that there is an application process. They also engage in land swaps when they are trying to assemble a large parcel. This information is not widely publicized; I think the nuts-and-bolts procedures are spelled out in the Code of Federal Regulations, probably in Part 43, which contains regulations respecting public lands.
Mining claims are also covered in 43 CFR at section 3830, et seq. This link might be helpful:
http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/43cfr3830_03.html
Keep in mind that obtaining and retaining a mining claim requires that the claimant make some expenditures on development work. There has been a lot of abuse of mining claims (such as claiming it for purposes other than bona fide mine purposes) and the regulations have been tightened to try to eliminate such abuses. There is probably also a requirement to post a bond to assure reclamation after the mining work is over.
On the general topic of finding cheap or free land, I suggest making a visit to the area of the country that interests you, visiting the local BLM office, asking the county treasurer or tax collector about tax foreclosure sales, talking to local real estate brokers, or even running an ad in the local paper.
I've noticed that a large number of cheap tracts of land in undeveloped areas come up for auction sale on eBay. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


