California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
4/04/05, 7:57 pm

Legal Question


Irresponsible Tenant

I have just discovered that the tenant in my townhome has not reported a leak in the 2nd story bathtub, which has caused extensive damage to the ceiling of the bedroom below. The issue of mold damage has yet to be addressed but photographs taken by an appraiser show black areas as well as peeled-away sheetrock and exposed floor joists from the bedroom looking up.

What recourse do I have as owner to (1) evict this tenant as soon as possible, and (2) recover damages from her to repair the leak, the structural members, the drywall, and any other areas yet to be discovered as needing replacement or repair?

Thank you very much for your consideration.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search