Re: Joint Tenants
I assume you mean "added my name to the title," not "to the deed." A deed is a one-use document, used to transfer title like a bank check transfers money, whereas title is more like the "bank account" - it is the lasting thing, where the value is stored.
In any case, I understand what you're asking. Here are some thoughts:
1. Most lawyers counsel most clients NOT to transfer property, especially property that has risen in value from the time it was acquired by the donor, by deed during the donor's lifetime. It is almost always a way to enrich the tax collector at the expense of family wealth. It's almost always far better to pass appreciated property by will, or even better because it avoids probate, by living trust. I do not prepare trusts, so I have nothing personal at stake in advising clients and LawGuru users NOT to put property in joint tenancy as an estate-planning or probate-avoidance measure. There are exceptions to this rule; the main one being if the property has decreased in value since it was first acquired. With appreciated property, the heir will be much better off in terms of capital-gains tax liability if the property is inherited rather than gifted during lifetime. There also may be a gift tax liability.
2. If the deed was properly drawn up and recorded, the property transfers to you by operation of law upon your mother's death. However, it is not uncommon for family members to question the transfer and the result in court, claiming undue influence, incompetence of the grantor, etc. etc.
3. Upon your mother's death, in order to remove her name from title, you will probably need to record an affidavit of death of joint tenant, attaching a certified copy of the death certificate and a sworn verification, along with a preliminary change of ownership form. The affidavit form can be purchased from a legal stationer, and the county recorder can provide the change of ownership document.
I hope your tax burdens are not extreme and that the circumstances do not provoke other family members who expected to inherit to file suit.