California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Can I keep the land?
I am seeking some advise on whether my uncle has a good chance in winning this case. The situation is this: my uncle purchased a new house in San Francisco more than three years ago. A few months ago, the house owner across from his back yard notified him that there are 18' of my uncle's back yard belong to them. When my uncle purchased the property, the fence line was already like that, and my uncle even improved the back yard from undeveloped land to landscaped area. When my uncle asked the seller who built and sold the house to him, the seller said he had owned the land for 9 yeard prior to subdividing the land and build two houses on it, and he just left the fence line where it was, never moved it.
According the deed, the land does belong to the house across the yard. And that owner is filing a lawsuit to claim back the land. So the question are: 1. does my uncle has a case and a good chance to not give back the land? 2. If he hires a lawyer to fight this case, will the cost of the lawyer fee be higher than the cost of the land itself? 3. Can my uncle suit the seller who sold him the property for the damages including the cost of lawyer fee and the lost of the land if he lost the case? Please advise.


