California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Can a landlord charge more (from eviction) than the amount of judgement?
My roomate and I were recently evicted from our apartment of 2.5 yrs. She became unemployed, and we explained the situation to the apts. They understood and continuously took the rent late,until the last time, they refused -no explanations. We went to court 3/26, the judge said we owed $1675.58 (595 rent, 350 attorney fees, 195 court cost, and pro rated rent / damages of 535.58)I have a copy of the transcript.I rec'd a letter from the apts, stating we owe $2319 minus 515 deposit=$1804 (1332 rent, cleaning 105, legal fees 722, carpet dye 160) THere were no damages to the apt, after 2.5 yrs wouldn't the carpet be wear and tear if it did need anything? Can they charge more than the judgement says?


