California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
2/24/07, 3:52 pm

Legal Question


landlord sue previous tenants (commercial lease)

To whom it may concern:

I'm not sure if this case belongs to the Real Estate Law or Business Law.

This is regarding a storefront business, the business has changed hands many times.

I'm one of the owner during these times.

The landlord is currently suing all the previous owners for the defaults on the current owner for not paying the rent, so here are my questions on how to handle this situation:

(1) Can the landlord go after all the previous owners, and on what grounds...??

(2) If only 3 out of 5 previous owners can be contacted, the other 2 moved away or is out of country, Does that mean the other 2 can get away with the lawsuit...??

(3) My business was a Corporation entity, and the corporation was closed years ago, so can the landlord still go after me personally

or not ...??

(4) We feel it's not right for the landlord to go after previous owners, the landlord should take his own responsibility for granting the lease to the current owner.

What is the best way to handle this case for all the previous owners...??

Please reply as precise as possible, we are in the Los Angeles area, if you can provide the most helpful answers, then we will choose you to represent us, thank you very much.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search