California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
10/29/05, 2:52 am

Legal Question


Do Not Have Lease: Can I be evicted without reason

My landlord wants to give me $3,000 to move. The tenant upstairs has lived there for 2 years and pays a lot of money. I have lived there for 6 or 7 years and pay a lot less. The upstairs tenant has never had a problem with us but his is a little crazy. He screams at the garbage truck, at cats, at people on the street during the day talking at a normal level. One weekend we had 2 people spend the night and he was upset because he could hear doors opening and closing. There was no party, and no illegal activity. There was only a normal level of noise. The people we had over had a beat up van that was parked out side on the street. He did not like that. I think that was the real problem. He came down stairs and threatened my partner with physical violence. My partner said that we are not making any noise and that he thought there was no reason to get so upset. The tenant then went to the land lord and told him he was moving. We are up to date on the rent. We have had past problems but the land lord agreed to wait in those cases and said ''No rush''. But he never threatened any action and it has been quite a while since asking him to be late on the rent. I have no lease. He does not do leases. There is no renters agreemen


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search