California  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/21/13, 9:44 am

Is it legal to list a house for sale and also list it for rent at same time?

4 Answers


Answered on: 9/21/13, 9:46 am by Joel Selik

Yes.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


www.SelikLaw.com Box 1448 San Diego And Las Vegas, CA 92079

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/21/13, 9:53 am by Timothy McCormick

Of course, why not? If an owner is willing either to rent or sell depending on which turns out to bring the better offer in, why would the law preclude them from offering both to the public? Also, if it is an investment property, why would the landlord be precluded from renting it while he is trying to sell it to another investor/landlord?


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 201 Spear St., Suite 1100 San Francisco, CA 94105

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/21/13, 10:45 am by Anthony Roach

It is legal. Nothing like keeping your options open.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/21/13, 3:23 pm by Bryan Whipple

Not only is it legal, you could do both, provided the buyer was an investor or otherwise was happy to be getting rent rather than living in the house. Just be careful to disclose all the facts to both the buyer and the renter.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law P O Box 318 Tomales, CA 94971-0318

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search