California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
4/21/08, 3:09 pm

Legal Question


legal meaning of plus or minus acres when selling a land parcel

What are the limits as to the number of acres when the sales contract has + or - , like it means .10 acres of less, when selling 320 acres. I sold a parcel of 360, with the agreement that I could subdivide out a 40 ac. parcel through the county process, which I did, in the process my surveyor found an additional 7.79 acres, I granted to myself the 7.79 ac. adjacent to my 40 ac. parcel with a legal description through the County recorder, but the buyer is saying this is his 7.79 acres under the disguise of the plus or minus. I am claiming the acres because I paid for the survey and otherwise these new acres would never exist.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search