California  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/16/13, 11:37 am

A lien was placed on my home for and amount I dont owe to a contractor. What should to keep my home

3 Answers


Answered on: 9/16/13, 11:40 am by Timothy McCormick

Consult with a lawyer in person who knows construction law. It is a very specialized area of the law and that means 1) don't try to deal with it yourself, and 2) get someone who really knows construction law.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 201 Spear St., Suite 1100 San Francisco, CA 94105

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/16/13, 11:47 am by Anthony Roach

I agree with Mr. McCormick. It sounds as though you are dealing with a mechanic's lien. You will want to speak to an attorney familiar with that area of law. There are tricky rules involved in foreclosure of a mechanic's liens.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/17/13, 12:40 pm by Terry A. Nelson

You'll have to file legal action to 'clear title' unless you can get the lien holder to voluntarily remove it.

If serious about hiring counsel to help in this, and if this is in SoCal courts, feel free to contact me. Iíll be happy to help fight and get the best outcome possible.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

130 Answers given in the last few hours.

8627 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search