California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
12/06/07, 12:13 am

Legal Question


Life estates

I am an only child and the woman who claimed my father married her before he died at 90, agreed to sign away her rights to his estate if she were given a life estate.

That was 3 yrs ago. She is now 97 yrs old . My attorney and hers drafted the life estate subj to certain terms. One term was that she had to reside at the property for the life estate to be valid. She has lived in a convalescent home for almost a yr as revealed by my hired private investigator. She is also suffering from Alzheimers and incoherent. I am trying to obtain a home loan and need to clear title. The life estate is now invalid as she no longer lives there. How can I get her name off the title or the life estate amended? We also drafted that if any controversy should arise, ot would be handled by the Amer. Arbitration Assoc. Would I need to go through them or a real estate attorney?

So

1. I need to clear title.

2. Amend our probate to show life estate invalid.

3. She is not coherent.

4. Her relatives are uncooperative.

(My former attorney is completely baffled as he was during this entire process. He actually suggested I call someone with more experience as he confessed he does not know) Pls help. All title companies says no though loan approved.

Thks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search