California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
7/28/09, 4:10 pm

Legal Question


I live in California. My husband died on March 9,09. He left no will. Going through paperwork, I found our grant deed dated Jan. 4,06. It had not been recorded,so I went to the recorder\'s office yesterday (7/27/09). He had been in ill health for quite a few years and didn\'t always feel well, so I assume that is why he never got this done. In the same envelope, I also found a blank change of ownership form. The woman at the recorder\'s office said I should be getting the copy of the deed back in about 6-8 weeks. The problem I have is that only my husband\'s name is on the deed. He was a veteran and at the time of our home purchase (through Cal-Vet), we were not married, though we were shortly after purchase...less than a year later. However, during the course of our marriage, I helped with the mortgage payments, and after our house was paid off, I also helped with the property tax payments. Since no change of ownership form was filled out, where does this leave me? I would like the house to go to our sons after I pass on, but if the house is not in my name, how do I do this? Additionally, do I need to report my husband\'s death to anyone? If so, who? Am I going to be able to keep the house? Is there something I need to fill out to resolve this problem, or am I going to need to see an attorney? Please help!\nThank You,\nLiz


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search