California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
10/04/08, 12:45 am

Legal Question


Can I make my renter pay water, sewer & trash?

I rent a small house to a single man.

He's been there for a number of

years and has never had a rent raise.

With the cost of everything going up,

I was wondering if it was legal in

California to change the terms for my

month-to-month renter and have

him be responsible to pay for the

water, sewer and trash. These bills

would be put in his name. I know I

could always raise his rent, but

instead, I'd like him to be responsible

for his own trash and water and

sewer use. My city bills each

category (water, sewer, trash)

separately, 3 or 4 times a year.

Thanks for any help.

Dee Dee


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search