California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Material Disclosure
I purchased a brand new house from a builder less than 2 years ago. As I was new to the town, I didn't know a lot about the area, and I also made the mistake of not calling to the Police Department before purchasing it, to know about crime rates in the area.
I am now trying to sell my house, and my realtor said that I have the obligation of releasing the information that I know (about houses being broken into down the street) with potential buyers.
Was the builder's obligation to provide me with these Material Disclosures about the area's crime rate? According to the law, is there anything I can do against the builder?


