California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
How can I get my money back ??
Hi,
I was going to rent a studio from the friend of a friend and I gave her cash and a cashier check without receipt. For various reasons I had to change my mind about renting her place and I asked her to give me some of my money back. She refused to pay anything back, knowing that I had no proof. I have a question : that woman converted her garage to a studio and she is renting it. What is the legal procedure I should start if she does not have a permit ? And would that in any way help me to recover some of the amount I gave her ? Thank you.


