California  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/08/13, 5:30 pm

My parents are being sued for a property dispute and they do not have anything to do with the property. Should they not respond to the complaint?

4 Answers


Answered on: 7/08/13, 6:33 pm by Anthony Roach

That is something that a lawyer would want to review by reading the complaint and speaking to them before advising to either do or do nothing.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/08/13, 7:18 pm by Bryan Whipple

Ordinarily, the risk of failing to respond to a summons and complaint is substantial, even if the complaint is baseless and/or should have been directed to another defendant. Perhaps the proper response is a demurrer, rather than an answer. However, it's rather rarely advisable to let a summons and complaint go, without some kind or responsive pleading to the court, and served upon the plaintiff(s) and other parties (if any).


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law P O Box 318 Tomales, CA 94971-0318

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/09/13, 9:47 am by Joel Selik

It is dangerous to just ignore a Complaint, as their rights to defense may be compromised as well as damages may be awarded against them. Seek a lawyer to review the documents and facts.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


www.SelikLaw.com Box 1448 San Diego And Las Vegas, CA 92079

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/09/13, 10:47 am by Timothy McCormick

Everyone is telling you it is dangerous, but not why. If they do not respond, the attorney who filed the case will be able to take their default and obtain a default judgement against them, even if the case had absolutely no basis in the first place. If it really looks like this is just a simple mistake, the first step is to contact the attorney who filed the action and try to explain the mistake and get them to dismiss it as to your parents. If that does not work, then they need to take the complaint to a lawyer and get specific advice on how to deal with it.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 201 Spear St., Suite 1100 San Francisco, CA 94105

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search