California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
9/23/04, 5:09 pm

Legal Question


Do I have to pay back escrow paid to me in error if it's already gone

Hello,

I just sold my home and was paid the proceeds for it, including approx $5,000 that was paid in error by the Title company to my mortgate company (apparently due to a typo that I was not aware of--they transposed 2 numbers) and my mortgage company subsequently paid it to me. I have already spent the money and would like to know whether I am required to pay that money back since it was the Title Company's error. I would be very hard pressed to accumulate that money back to be able to pay it.

I appreciate any information.

Regards.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search