California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
9/30/05, 8:52 am

Legal Question


property buy-out

My boyfriend and I bought a house 5 years ago. We hold the property as Joint

Tenants. We have now split and I have not lived in the house for about 5

months. He wants to buy my share. In order to do so, he can only refianance in

his name alone if my name is off the deed. He has offered me a fair amount but

needs sign a document that takes my name off the deed. In return, he will

refianace and have my name taken off the loan. Thereafter he will give me my

buy-out share once he takes an equity loan out on the house [he has already

been pre-approved to refianance on his own].Question: can I protect my self

with a contract? ie.: if I take my name off the deed and have a contract stating he

has x amount of days to pay me my share? Is there anyway for me to put a lien

on the house? I am in the los angeles area. Thank you!!!


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search