Re: Property line
This is clearly not valid service of process. Are you sure it is a Summons and Complaint that your neighbor tried to serve you with?
If it's for Small Claims Court, you should know that in Small Claims, the court doesn't have the jurisdiction to adjudicate a quiet title claim. That's what this case is: a quiet title claim.
If your neighbor did simply leave a copy of the Summons and Complaint at your door, there are ways to deal with it. You can move to quash service; or you can move to dismiss; or you can appear and contest the merits of the case.
At any rate, you would have at least 30 days to respond to the Complaint, not a week.
Without seeing what he is suing you for, I don't know how to respond to the other merits of your question. If he seeks to impose an exclusive prescriptive easement, he will fail, because the law does not recognize such a beast. If the property on which he encroaches is truly yours, then you have the right to countersue and force him to remove his fence.
You may have coverage for such a claim in your title policy, depending upon the nature of the claim.
For further advise, seek out the counsel of a qualified attorney familiar with title and boundary disputes. We are real estate litigators with extensive experience in these types of issues. If you would like a no charge consult, feel free to email or fax the documents at issue.
Good luck.
***No Legal Services or Attorney Client Relationship - Although this email may provide information concerning potential legal issues, it is not a substitute for legal advice from qualified counsel. You should not and are not authorized to rely on this email as a source of legal advice. Until a formal Retainer Agreement is executed, any communication between you and The Guerrini Law Firm cannot create any attorney-client relationship between you and The Guerrini Law Firm.***