California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
8/29/10, 2:27 pm

Legal Question


My property manager, throughout the course of lease, repeatedly dropped by without notices and bullied us, threatened us with eviction, and entered our property without 24-hour-notice or our consent. I am interested in pursuing legal action against them, but I am not sure what law to cite as reason. I have been told that this is totally illegal and a violation of my tenant's rights in California, but I'm having trouble finding the actual legal clause that states this. What should I look at to help form a case? I had 5 roommates who all experienced this treatment.


question bubble
9/03/10, 4:08 pm

Legal Answer


Entry of dwelling by landlord is covered by Civil Code section 1954. The Code does not specify a penalty for non-compliance, so I suppose on this topic ypu'd have to plead and prove some amount of money damages in order to recover more than a nominal sum.

Bryan Whipple

Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law P O Box 318 Tomales, CA 94971-0318

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search