Re: Getting Out of a Property Sale
Your question omits a variety of key facts, and it raises two fundamental issues:
1. Have you, as your fiance's agent (or trustee, depending upon how your power of attorney is drafted), breached a duty of due care owed to your fiance? In other words, by signing a listing agreement which gives the agent half of the profits, have you violated the duty of due care which you owe to your fiance. (You owe this duty not because he is your fiance, but because you agreed to act on his behalf via the power of attorney).
2. Did the broker violate statutory or common law duties to you (or your fiance) by making an agreement regarding commission which could be construed to be unconscionable? This is a bizarre arrangement. The broker is now tantamount to your partner, which creates a much different duty on his/her part, as opposed to being your agent. The duties in both analyses are very high duties, but the analysis would be different.
Moreover, it is unclear how the 50% is to be calculated. Is it gross or net profit? And what if the sale breaks even, after deducting mortgage, etc.? Does that mean that the broker gets nothing?
If the agreement was procured by fraud, you may be entitled to rescind it on that basis. Your mistake may also provide a reasonable ground to rescind the agreement, though mistake is not always a valid ground.
A very unorthodox arrangement. I would have to do some research, but I would be inclined to wager that this arrangement, if it is as you set forth, is surely questionable, and perhaps unenforceable, and may even subject the broker to discipline.
Get yourself a good real estate litigator now. Delay could be costly. If you need to discuss the matter, please call or email. We are experienced litigators with extensive experience in real estate transactional disputes involving brokers.
Good luck.
***No Legal Services or Attorney Client Relationship - Although this email may provide information concerning potential legal issues, it is not a substitute for legal advice from qualified counsel. You should not and are not authorized to rely on this email as a source of legal advice. Until a formal Retainer Agreement is executed, any communication between you and The Guerrini Law Firm cannot create any attorney-client relationship between you and The Guerrini Law Firm.***