California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
12/09/10, 11:29 am

Legal Question


I purchased two lots 7 years ago. Lot #1 has access to public street through a private street over 6 properties. Lot #2 is adjacent to lot #1 but is landlocked and undeveloped. Lot #2 does not have easement access through the 6 properties like lot #1, but it has a recorded road easement over an adjacent property (lot #3) that leads to a public street. There is a very old fence seperating lot #2 and #3 and it does not have a door. I presume it was erected in 1981 like the new owner of lot #3 claim. They are suing to have the road easement removed since the city will not allow them to erect a fence to protect the back portion of their lot as the fence will block this easement. They are suing under the terms of abandonment of easement (California Civil Code 887.050) and adverse posession of easement using the age of the fence dividing lot #2 and #3. I would like to preserve this easement if possible to retain the value and possibility of developing lot #2.

I have crossed the fence line numerous times since my purchase of lot #1 & 2 in order to repair the fence so I think the abandonment of easement portion requirement can be challenged?? However will I be able to defend against the adverse posession of easement portion of their suit with the old fence in place dividing lot #2 and #3? Also CA Civic Code 887.070 does allow for filing late a notice of intent to preserve the easement. Will filing this protect against adverse posession of easement?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search