California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
6/17/09, 11:06 pm

Legal Question


purchasing an REO

We are in escrow for a REO house. There are a few things going on that don't seem right. First, the termite addendum states that if termites are found, seller agrees to treat infestation at a cost acceptable to seller. Termites have been found, repair estimated to be 3800. The bank will only give a 1200 credit and not repair. Second, we have been asked to sign disclosures and acknowledgement that smoke detectors are in the house when they are NO smoke detectors at all. It doesn't seem right but our agent says REOs are exempt from everything and we can not negotiate with the bank. That doesn't seem right either. Please advise.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search