California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
8/30/10, 9:48 am

Legal Question


My question:

What happens (legally) if a tenant stays one week after the move-out date on a termination of tenancy notice, however the full rent was paid even for that extra week.

My situation:

I've been renting a house from a property management company for over 3 years with a month to month lease. I always pay on time and there have never been any problems. 1 month ago I received a 60 day termination of tenancy because the owner wants to sell the house. I have to be out of the house by 9/23/10. I was able to find, and purchase, a place but will not be able to move in to the new house until 10/01/10 when escrow closes. I asked the property management company to ask the owner if I could stay in the rental one week longer (until 10/01) and pay full rent for September, not have them pro-rate it. However, the owner said no. I have nowhere to go for that week and wonder if I just pay the full rent, could I stay in the rental a week longer and not pay any price legally? Can they change the locks? Would they have to serve an eviction notice (which would take longer than a week to get processed and I'd be out by then anyway)?

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you!


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search