Legal Question in Real Estate Law in California

I am a real estate agent and a previous client of mine asked me to list her property because she is being transferred by her work out of state. We signed all the necessary paperwork and then about a week later I got a call from a relo company saying that I had to pay a 40 percent referral fee to them or else it would affect my clients transfer. her transfer is being paid by her work not the relo company. Do I have to give them a referral fee even though she was a previous client?

Asked on 10/01/13, 11:57 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Roach Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Something is missing from your story. That something would be the reason why the relo company is asking for a "referral" fee in the first place.

Read more
Answered on 10/02/13, 9:09 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now