California | Real Estate Law
10/17/09, 2:29 pm
Legal Question
what does REMISE, RELEASE AND FOREVER QUITCLAIM TO means?
what does REMISE, RELEASE AND FOREVER QUITCLAIM TO means?
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
This is the typical language of a quitclaim deed and what makes it different from a grant deed, in which there are a grantor and a grantee and the former "grants unto" the latter.
They had to come up with something to distinguish where a person is merely "quitting his claim" to the property from where the person was making a grant -- so someone centuries ago decided that what a person quitting his claim was doing was remising, releasing and quitclaiming.
"Remise" means "to give, grant, or release a claim to; to surrender or hand over by deed"
The three words when taken together show that the instrument is a quitclaim deed rather than a grant deed, and the person doing the remising, etc. is giving up any claim of ownership to the other party, without any representation or warranty that he in fact has any interest in the property. |
|
Read More Answered By: OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES |
Are you giving away your real estate or is someone giving you their's? Contact me directly. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
► Hello my father has been given a notice in the mail "NOTICE OF MOTION AND...
► Hello my father has been given a notice in the mail "NOTICE OF MOTION AND...
► If I am served a Cure or Quit notice and decide to Quit instead of Cure... am I...
► My neighbor below me has planted pepper trees and blocked my view property. When I...
► I purchased a vehicle a few years ago and had my ex girlfriend register it under her...
► I purchased a home in 2002 located in Moreno Valley, California with my then...
► What can my mom do if she was convinced to sign her property over by a real estate...
More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press