California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
4/04/05, 5:32 pm

Legal Question


Removing a tree on my property planted by a neighbor

My neighbor planted a pine tree in between his home and my home about 40 years ago. Today, 90% of the tree trunk sits on my property. The tree stands about 3-4 stories high. From the placement of the tree on my side of the property line, it is reasonable to assume that my neighbor may have wanted to benefit from the tree at the expense of me and previous owners of my home.

The value of this dispute is less than $5,000. Since the great majority of the tree trunk sits on my property, may I remove the tree under the law? Is it more likely than not that a small claims court will rule in my favor? Who would pay for the removal of the tree?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search