California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 4:45 pm

Legal Question


I have a rental property with tenants – 1.5 years remaining before lease expires. The tenant has agreed to exit the premises if and when we sell the property. I assume I’ll need to add an addendum to the existing lease stating I’ll give the tenant a 30 day notice when the property has reached a point when I’m certain the purchase transaction will occur. Note: The tenant has agreed to the above.

Question: I realize you can put anything in a contract and have both parties agree/sign, but if it’s not legal then …………. Is it legal to give a tenant a 30 day notice when both parties have agreed to the terms?


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search