California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
7/18/06, 3:19 pm

Legal Question


Renter's Recourse?

A relative who is a senior citizen is being defrauded by her former landlord. Her & her now deceased husband rented a single family residence for 16 years. She was given a 30 day notice to move. She vacated the dwelling & the owners sent their son to take possesion of the keys to the property. The son made no mention of refunding her deposit. For the last two months she has tried on several occassions to reach the property owners by phone,they have not returned any of her calls. She has sent them a certified letter to their residence which they signed for but failed to contact her.

Under California law what recourse does she have? The property owners owe her $5000.00,but she is no longer in possesion of the original rental agreement,however the leasing agent still maintains an office in the area.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search