California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
5/01/02, 12:24 am

Legal Question


How to retrieve belongings held by roommate?

I lived with my daughter and grandson in an apt. The apt. is under my daughter's name and most of the furniture including the refrig., t.v. and other items used in the home were mine. I am in the process of a divorce and this is the reason why I was living with my daughter. She got back with her ex-boyfriend, the baby's father and him and I got into an argument because he verbally abused my grandson. My daughter told me to stay out of it but I didn't. She came into my room and told me to leave. She basically threw me out. She refuses to give me my belongings, including some of my clothes, my t.v, refrig, things I am still paying on. I have receipts for these items. The place where I bought the T.V. went to get the T.V. for me and she refused to give it to them. I went as far at taking the police with me and she still refused. What type of legal action can I take to retrieve my belongings? Please help. I am on disability and cannot afford an attorney. I live in Fontana, California. Thank You.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search