California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
10/16/00, 5:27 pm

Legal Question


"Rights as a Renter"

I rented a house from a homeowner (not a management co). I lived there 1.5 years and paid a $2000 deposit when I moved in. They are now refusing to return any of my deposit. The only items I feel responsible for when I moved out were a couple light fixture, a patio swing and a missing hose. While I was living there I encountered many problems which they were very slow to respond to. One such problem was leaking, which caused extensive damage to a downstairs bedroom. The original lease stated I would paint before moving out. However, when I moved in and discovered the entire upstairs had not been painted (even had lots of mold on the master bath ceiling) I sent them a letter asking to modify the original lease as I should not have to paint when it was not freshly painted prior to my moving in. I also made note of several other items in my letter which I did not want to be held responsible for. What can I do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search