California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Roomate Debt
In May, by roommate did not pay half of the utilities owed and did not pay all of her portion of rent. She lied to me about the rent part, so I had no idea (as we pay seperately), but I cut her slack on the utilities and paid her part. Unfortunately, I did not keep any of the statements, as I thought this would be a one-time thing and she would pay me back. Two weeks ago I discovered that she did not pay ANY of her portion of June rent, nor did she pay me for any of her utilities. I had to pay all of it to keep us from being evicted and to keep our electric/phone on. I asked her to move out and she refused. We are now a week into July and again she has not paid her half of the rent (I had to pay it again) nor her half of any of the bills. She refuses to leave and my landlord said that unless she goes willingly there's nothing I can do and I am completely liable for her. Is that true? Is there anyway I can force her to leave? What legal rights do I have to recover all of this lost money?


