California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
6/26/00, 5:12 pm

Legal Question


Roommate leaving, can the rent be raised?

The building I live in was sold to new owners. My rent was increased by 3% in May 2000 (the building is under rent control). Now my roommate is moving out and I wondered if the owners are entitled to raise my rent again, as we will have to create a new lease. Also, what if I didn’t get a new roommate, can they raise it then?

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search