California  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/30/13, 4:09 pm

I am selling my house and my real estate agent wants me to sign over the grant deed to the escrow company and am not comfortable and want to know if this is legal to do before even the closing.The buyers made the deposit and now want me to sign and notarize my grant deed.

4 Answers


Answered on: 8/30/13, 4:45 pm by Gary R. White

The transfer documents are not usually drafted and signed until after the buyers funds are received.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Burton & White 1325 Howe Avenue, Suite 214 Sacramento, CA 95825

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/30/13, 7:25 pm by Anthony Roach

I disagree with Mr. White.

Look at your escrow instructions. You have a duty as a seller to deposit a deed that is signed and notarized that deeds the property to the buyer. Escrow cannot close unless you fulfill your conditions. The escrow company holds the documents in trust, and does not record the deed until the buyer has fulfilled their conditions and deposited the purchase price. A deed stolen from an escrow file does not pass valid legal title, and can be set aside, so I think you are worrying about nothing.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/30/13, 11:23 pm by John Laurie

You should have an attorney review this. I do not see why you would sign a grant deed to the escrow company. The grand deed should be executed in the favor of the buyer no the escrow company unless I am missing something. Would need to see the documents.

www.gertzandlaurie.com

818345-0123


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/31/13, 10:51 am by Bryan Whipple

I agree with Mr. Roach -- assuming that the grant deed you're being asked to sign before a notary grants title to the buyer, of course (and not to the escrow holder). This seems like the normal pre-closing paperwork flow. Further, in case of doubt, you could ask the escrow company (they probably have a law department or at least an experienced escrow officer) to explain the whole process.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law P O Box 318 Tomales, CA 94971-0318

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search