California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Septic System Problem
I purchased my first home 7/23/03. An inspection on the home indicated that the home had two leach fields, one had failed one was working, and the recommendation was a new septic tank was necessary. The sellers agreed to pay for this and hired a company to replace and install a new septic tank (done on 7/22/03). My first week in the house I noticed dirt caving in around the septic tank. I called the person who did the installation and he said that was normal (we have clay dirt). A week after that I noticed water coming out of the tank I called my realtor who said to call the installation company. I did and they said my other leach field had failed. Everyone is saying that I am responsible for the cost of the failed leach field as the sellers did what was required of them. Help!


