Re: Can a spouse change/remove the other spouse from title?
I am assuming when I answer this question that you both took title as joint tenants. A "joint tenancy" is a form of property ownership by more than one person that carries a right of survivorship. (Estate of England (2nd Dist. 1991) 233 Cal. App. 3d 1, 4.)
To answer your first question, one party can unilaterally sever the joint tenancy. (Riddle v. Harmon (1st Dist. 1980) 102 Cal. App. 3d 524, 527.)
This is called enfeeoffment. When this occurs, the unsuspecting or unaware tenant does not lose title, however. The joint tenancy terminates, and the tenants become tenants in common.
In California, joint tenancy was NOT historically considered community property because both tenants are considered owners of a "separate estate." "The statutory presumption that property acquired after marriage except by gift, bequest, devise, or descent is community property (Civ. Code, §§ 162, 163, 164) is successfully rebutted by evidence that the property was taken in joint tenancy." (Schinder v. Schindler, 126 Cal. App. 2d 597, 601.)
The legislature destroyed this presumption, however, and effective in 1994, property held in either joint tenancy or tenancy in common is presumed to be community property. (Fam. Code sec. 2581.)
In order for your husband to take you off title completely, a deed would have to be recorded in which you deeded your interest to him. This could be a grant deed, a quit claim deed, or preferably an interspousal deed (which complies with post-1984 transmutation law.)
If you do not remember executing one of these documents, you are probably still on title. I have seen forged deeds come into my office (including some real good ones!) but they are rare and not commonplace. This issue can be resolved by a title search, to determine if a document was recorded transferring your rights to your husband.
To answer your second question, normally both spouses must join in executing a deed of trust that will encumber community property. (Fam. Code sec. 1102.)
The fact that the property is encumbered without your consent is a little troubling, because as one of the other attorneys noted, lenders do not like to get one signature when community property is encumbered. The reason for this is because in California, a spouse who did not consent to the transaction can void a trust deed executed by the other spouse during the marriage. (Droeger v. Friedman, Sloan & Ross (1991) 54 Cal. 3d 26, 36-39.)
Normally (and I use that word cautiously), a lender will require his own title search and will purchase a lender's policy of title insurance. If a lender discovers the property is community property, they will require both signatures.
You should have someone perform a title search for you (possible through a preliminary title report) to determine if he has taken off title.