California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Tenants block house sale
Are there laws against tenants
aggressively blocking the sale of a
house by not allowing potential buyers
or even the agents to view the home?
Tenants block house sale
Are there laws against tenants
aggressively blocking the sale of a
house by not allowing potential buyers
or even the agents to view the home?
|
Read More Answered By: Johm Smith |
Re: Tenants block house sale Your lease contract should grant you access during reasonable hours. Our CA member firm can assist you with this matter and give you an improved lease agreement. |
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: Tenants block house sale You would have to say more specifically exactly what the tenants are doing that amounts to "aggressively blocking" a sale. If they are committing assault and battery on buyers and agents, yes, there's a law against that.
Keep in mind that "laws against" and "illegal" are concepts that imply that there is a written statute on the books and/or that the police or the district attorney might bring charges in the name of the people. This is the area of criminal law. More likely than not, if there is a case against these tenants at all, it will be a civil action by the property owner or other person with standing to bring a civil lawsuit for invasion of a private right. That right will probably not be expressed in "black letter law" in a code or statute.
Instead, it will probably be one of the recognized torts, such as intentional interference with prospective economic advantage.
In response to previous similar questions on LawGuru, I have tried to counsel the owner or owner's agent that there are two possible approaches to handling this kind of situation that may be quicker and cheaper than filing a civil suit. One is to evict the tenants, lawfully, of course. The other is to find out what the tenants' grievance is and cure it. There is something oddly inconsistent about trying to prevent the sale of the house. If the tenants don't like the landlord, they should be in favor of the sale, because after the sale they'll have a new landlord. If they do like the landlord, then why don't they cooperate?
|
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
► Deed of trust I have a deed of trust on my house. the lender only has my signature...
► Road Maintenance vs. improvement A road maintenance agreement is in effect on the 1...
► Bilateral fence that i made an oral agreement on. I made an oral agreement with my...
► Commercial real estate lease At the end of a commercial real estate lease, does the...
► Partition Action- Joint tenant My mother is going through a difficult time...
► Neighbor damages/kills my tree If my neighbor damages or kills my tree, causing it...
► Buyer's Deposit A buyer put down a $3,000 deposit on the property we were selling....
More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press