California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
7/28/10, 9:00 am

Legal Question


I thought I was "romantically involved" with a person. They started moving in to my home this past spring. Tools, 2 motorcycles, clothing. After about a month and a half or two months, all of a sudden it seemed to become urgent that they move out to another state. (little did I know, there had been another on-going relationship at the same time I thought we had one).

So, the person left, with a lot of their clothing, and in a couple of weeks, which would have been this past May 8th, they came back with a truck and trailer and took most of their tools, the motorcycles and all the rest of the clothing. There are still several power tools, motorcycle parts, some shelving, left in my garage. There has been minimal contact, and at one point they did say that "maybe someday" they would be able to come get the rest of their things. August 8th it will have been 3 months since they took what they did.

My question is, do the remaining items in the garage now belong to me? Are they considered "abandoned"? Could I sell them or dispose of them in any way?

Whether or not this is relevant, I am a female, almost 60, and this was a person I had known (or so I thought) for almost 20 years.

I am choosing "Property Law", because this is regarding personal property. Hope I made the correct choice.

Thank you for your consideration.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search