California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Tree roots damage property
The big tree on my neighbor's property has roots spreading on a large portion of my front yard. The roots are about to hit the city water supplied pipe coming to the house. I talked to him and stressed out that his tree is damaging my property. He said he knows but he is not going to do anything about that. I asked if I can cut the invading roots along the property line, he said ''no'' since the property line is too close to the tree trunk, the tree may fall down. He knows the problem but refused to correct it, I can not do anything about the roots and my property is damaging. What should I do?


